NELIG Meeting Minutes - 5/12/2000

NEBIC Meeting, May 12, 2000

Minutes of the NEBIC Steering Committee Meeting
Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Worcester, MA
Friday, May 12, 2000

 

Attending: 

Name E-mail Institution
Kathy Labadorf klabadorf@lib.uconn.edu University of Connecticut
Mary C. MacDonald marymac@uri.edu University of Rhode Island
Susan McMullen stm@alpha.rwu.edu Roger Williams University
Veronica Maher vtm@alpha.rwu.edu Roger Williams University
Patricia Brennan tbrennan@ric.edu Rhode Island College
Sharon Moore qv_moore@commnet.edu QVCC
Barbara Husbands bhusband@salem.state.edu Salem State College
Holly Nagib nagibh@admin.wit.edu Wentworth Institute of Technology
Anna Litten anna_litten@emerson.edu Emerson College
Sue Lorimer suzanne.lorimer@yale.edu Yale University
Nancy Godleski nancy.godleski@yale.edu Yale University
Carol Gordon cgordon@bu.edu Boston University
Ardelle Legg alegg@bu.edu Boston University
Kate Shaw kshaw@cwmars.org AIC
Chris Cox ccox@wpi.edu Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Judy Pinnolis pinnolis@brandeis.edu  Brandeis University
Jim Craig jlcraig@library.umass.edu Umass/Amherst
Nancy Sam Urtz nsurtz@anselm.edu St. Anselm
Jennifer Diffin diffin@dwc.edu Daniel Webster College
Keith Martin martink@dwc.edu Daniel Webster College
Nick Welchman welchman@ecsu.ctstateu.edu Eastern Conneticut State University
Gail Shank gshank@curry.edu Curry College
Norma Gahl ngahl@dean.edu Dean College
Kendall Hobbs khobbs@wesleyan.edu Wesleyan University
Dawn Thistle dthistle@assumption.edu Assumption College
Jaqueline Fitzpatrick jfitzpatrick@wellesley.edu Wellesley College
Nancy George ngeorge@salem.mass.edu Salem State College
Liz Frechette frechette@nvct5.commnet.edu  Naugatuck Valley Community College
Esme DeVault edevault@wheelock.edu Wheelock College

Nancy George, Chair, announced the welcome and introductions. She distributed an agenda and announced that the NEBIC secretary, Julie Whelan, was unable to attend today's meeting. Mary MacDonald will take minutes.

Nancy spent a few minutes describing what NEBIC does four meetings a year, one annual program, WEB in BI, and the NEBIC-L Listserv.

Nancy announced the NEBIC elections that are done via email over the NEBIC web page. She discussed who is running and that the election will end June 2 with winners being announced at the Annual Program on June 9 at Simmons.

Esme Devault of Wheelock and Holly Nagib of Wentworth Institute of Technology are chairing the Annual Program. The title of the program is "Information Literacy into the Curriculum Methods and Models for Librarians" Details on the program can be found on the calendar section of our web site. 

Nancy George, Mary MacDonald and Julie Whelan have submitted a proposal for an invited paper to ACRL National for the 2001 Conference. The proposal extols the strengths, benefits and virtues of NEBIC as a contributing force in the development of information literacy in New England. (whew!) They expect to hear from ACRL after the July ALA conference is over.

Esme Devault presented a 45 minute presentation on the work she has done using CourseInfo, a product of BlackBoard.com. The program was very interesting and generated a lively question and answer period.

After the presentation the floor was opened for discussion and information sharing. Some of the threads of discussion were

How to save course information work from a CourseInfo type set up by burning a CD for archival and/or future use purposes.

Discussion of how to download or dump student IDs from the Registrar into a product such as CourseInfo

The Undergraduate Librarian form UCONN raised a question about whether it is appropriate to steer students to particular databases based on their year in school ie Undergraduate Databases and Graduate Databases.

This in turn prompted discussion of how to guide/help students to decide on appropriate databases when they may not be in the library (working from computer at home or work)

Faculty members make unrealistic and sometimes irrational recommendations to students for using databases and web sites. How can we inform faculty without alienating them?

Suggestions for this include faculty outreach, a faculty news section on your library web site, visiting faculty personally, invite to lunch, focus on making personal connections, get on campus committees so you work side by side with faculty, invite departments to hold one faculty meeting a year in the library so you can show them "what's new", develop a library newsletter (print or web). Another interesting suggestion ask faculty for their expertise in particular matters. It was noted that the campus culture is indicative of the results you may or may not achieve.

After a short break, the meeting resumed

Announcements of NEBICers doing presentations

Anna Litten of Emerson College will be presenting at the LOEX Conference on the First Year Experience in Michigan next week.

Sue McMullen of Roger Williams University has been invited to present on Web Usability at the ALA Annual Conference in July. Her work can be viewed at http://gamma.rwu.edu/users/smcmullen/usable.html

Discussion of a possible change in the NEBIC name ensued. It is generally agreed that the BI in NEBIC is antiquated. It is also recognized that according to ACRL/NEC we are an interest group and not a committee. Many new names/acronyms were discussed but none accepted as yet. We will continue to brainstorm over the summer, via the Listserv, to come up with a savvy new name that more adequately describes the goals and objectives of the interest group.

The next NEBIC meeting will be announced via the NEBIC Listserv sometime in July.

The meeting adjourned at 1230 PM.

Respectfully submitted,
Mary C. MacDonald, Chair-elect
5/20/00

 

Return to NELIG Calendar